top of page

Home  ›  Hearing & Tinnitus  ›  GABA for Tinnitus: Grape Seed Extract vs. Ginkgo Biloba...

✓ Fact-Checked & NIH-Cited  •  Updated November 7, 2026

Audifort - Top Brain and Hearing — GABA for Tinnitus: Grape Seed Extract vs. Ginkgo Biloba (2026)

GABA for Tinnitus: Grape Seed Extract vs. Ginkgo Biloba (2026)

Writer: Mr Steady Natural Health
Mr Steady Natural Health
21 hours ago
5 min read

Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing here is medical advice.

Short answer: Brain scans show lower auditory-cortex gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA) in ear ringing, yet oral OTC GABA for tinnitus has zero human randomized trials because ingested GABA barely crosses the blood-brain barrier — aiding mainly stress and sleep (100–300 mg/day). In ginkgo biloba vs grape seed extract, grape seed oligomeric proanthocyanidins (OPCs) show stronger lab antioxidant power and cut loudness in a 70-patient stack trial, while Ginkgo biloba (EGb 761, 120–240 mg/day) spans 1,915+ Cochrane participants with placebo-level averages. None stops ringing solo, and both herbs carry blood-thinner risks.

Three Inner-Ear Pathways: How GABA, Grape Seed Extract, and Ginkgo Work

Side-by-side clinical comparison of GABA and grape seed extract versus standardized Ginkgo biloba EGb 761 for tinnitus

Chronic ringing starts in the cochlea and locks in centrally (NIDCD) when hair-cell wear raises neural firing gain:

  • Central braking (GABA): Human auditory-cortex neurochemistry reflects tinnitus presence via lower GABA (Sedley et al., 2015), yet for neurotransmitters as food supplements, swallowed GABA crosses the blood-brain barrier poorly with unclear brain and behavior effects (Boonstra et al., 2015).

  • Cochlear antioxidants (grape seed extract): Vitis vinifera seeds supply 85%–95% OPCs that scavenge mitochondrial free radicals (NCCIH).

  • Microvascular flow (*Ginkgo biloba*): Standardized EGb 761 (24% flavone glycosides, 6% terpene lactones) lowers blood viscosity and blocks platelet-activating factor (NCCIH).

Audifort - Top Brain and Hearing supplement bottle product overview

Human Clinical Trials Compared: Sample Sizes, Doses & Real Outcomes

Neither oral GABA nor grape seed extract has a solo human tinnitus RCT. Human studies show:

Modality

Study & Sample

Daily Dose

Human Outcome

Auditory GABA

Brain scan

Human auditory-cortex neurochemistry showed lower GABA in tinnitus (p < 0.05)

IV Steroid

6-hr IV brexanolone

Open-label neuroactive steroid GABA modulator cut tinnitus 7 days

Rx `gabapentin`

900–3,600 mg

Gabapentin matched placebo in idiopathic subjective tinnitus (p = 0.91)

Oral GABA

100–300 mg

Rice-germ GABA (300 mg) cut insomnia sleep onset to 5.7 min; 100 mg aided mood/CNS in stress

Antioxidant RCT

OPC + 600 mg ALA

Antioxidant supplementation in tinnitus patients cut loudness vs. placebo (p < 0.001)

Dietary OPCs

Tang et al., 2022 (1,217 older adults)

10-yr diet

Dietary flavonoids showed no protection on 10-year tinnitus incidence (p = 0.06)

Ginkgo biloba

150–240 mg

Ginkgo biloba matched placebo for tinnitus; 240 mg EGb 761 matched pentoxifylline in chronic tinnitus

Three findings guide adults 45–75:

  1. IV GABAkines aren't OTC GABA. Searches for gaba for tinnitus surface the open-label neuroactive steroid GABA modulator brexanolone (Watson et al., 2025); oral GABA only aids calm and sleep.

  2. Grape seed works in stacks, not solo. Grape seed extract for tinnitus relies on antioxidant supplementation in tinnitus patients pairing OPCs with 600 mg/day alpha-lipoic acid (Petridou et al., 2019).

  3. Guidelines skip routine supplements. The clinical practice guideline for tinnitus favors hearing exams, hearing aids, sound therapy, and CBT over Ginkgo (Tunkel et al., 2014). See root causes of tinnitus.

Study Dosages, Blood-Thinner Risks & When to See a Doctor

Trials test standardized daily doses over 4–12 weeks:

  • Oral GABA: 100–300 mg/day fermented rice-germ GABA for insomnia symptoms (Byun et al., 2018).

  • Grape seed extract: 100–300 mg/day (85%–95% OPCs; NCCIH).

  • *Ginkgo biloba*: 120–240 mg/day EGb 761 leaf extract (<5 ppm ginkgolic acids). Never eat raw or roasted ginkgo seeds (NCCIH).

Safety & drug cautions:

  • Blood thinners (`warfarin`, `apixaban`, `clopidogrel`, `aspirin`, NSAIDs): Ginkgo and grape seed slow clotting (NCCIH); stop two weeks pre-surgery.

  • Sedatives or blood-pressure meds: Oral GABA may cause brief flushing, tingling, drowsiness, or mild blood-pressure dips.

  • Seizures, pregnancy, or nursing: Avoid Ginkgo in seizure history or pregnancy; skip extracts while nursing.

When to see a doctor: Seek prompt ENT or audiology care for sudden hearing loss, one-sided ringing, pulsatile whooshing, vertigo, or ear pain (NIDCD).

Whole Foods Naturally Rich in GABA and Proanthocyanidins

Ginkgo leaf isn't culinary, while meals supply gentle GABA and OPCs:

  • GABA foods: Germinated brown rice, kimchi, miso, tempeh, kefir, tomatoes, spinach, and GABA green or oolong tea.

  • OPC foods: Red and Concord grapes, wild blueberries, cranberries, plums, cinnamon, and 70%+ dark cocoa.

Supplements That Contain Them: Audifort's 2026 Label, Dose Math & Price

On November 8, 2026, NIH's Label Database contrasts open-dose pills — Nature's Way Ginkgold 120 mg (#273460), Activin Grape Seed 100 mg (#256768), and NutraBio GABA 500 mg (#239022) — with proprietary drops.

Audifort (1 fl oz / 30 mL, 30 × 1 mL servings; "Take 1 or 2 droppers full daily") has zero NIH DSLD filings, though its 0.7 mcg chromium + 200 mg 22-item blend matches ZenCortex (#331137):

  • Zero *Ginkgo*, #2 grape seed, #19 GABA: By FDA weight order, Grape Seed Extract sits #2 of 22 and GABA sits #19 of 22 — capping GABA at ≤10.5 mg/mL (200 mg ÷ 19), well below 100–300 mg trials (weights not disclosed).

  • Hidden interactions: Adds guarana (caffeine), grapefruit extract (CYP3A4 statin risk; FDA), licorice, and L-tryptophan, plus xylitol (toxic to dogs).

November 8, 2026 US pricing (audisoothe.com/c/order-now.php; no 1-bottle pack):

Package

Supply*

Total

Per Bottle

US Shipping & Bonuses

2 Bottles

60 days

$158

$79

Paid at checkout (not disclosed); none

3 Bottles

90 days

$207

$69

Free US shipping + 2 eBooks

6 Bottles

180 days

$294

$49

Free US shipping + 2 eBooks

2026 Audifort bundle pricing table for 2, 3, and 6 bottles with US shipping and 90-day RMA refund rules

\At 1 mL/day on 30 mL; two droppers halves supply.*

return-policy.html sets a 90-day money-back policy: get an RMA via support@audifort.com and mail all bottles plus slip with tracking at your cost within 14 days to Returns66, 11870 62nd St. N, Largo, FL 33773 (shipping.html retains an old 60-day clause; use clkbank.com if slow). Anecdotally, Audifort Hearing holds a BBB "D" rating (January 2026) for unanswered return complaints, lacks a Trustpilot page, and draws mixed Reddit notes (unchanged ringing at 3–4 weeks vs. calmer tension at 60 days). Supplements aren't FDA-evaluated pre-sale (FDA). See our Audifort review, 200mg label audit, best tinnitus supplements, and where to buy Audifort.

Frequently Asked Questions

How is GABA linked to ringing in the ears and auditory nerve activity? GABA is the auditory pathway's main inhibitory messenger. Brain scans show lower auditory-cortex GABA in tinnitus, letting sound neurons fire hyperactively.

Does oral GABA help with tinnitus-related stress and sleep? Oral GABA (100–300 mg/day) doesn't quiet ringing directly since little crosses the blood-brain barrier, though 300 mg cut sleep onset to 5.7 minutes.

What is the difference between OTC GABA supplements and prescription medications? OTC GABA supplies plain amino acid that barely enters brain tissue. Prescription drugs cross the blood-brain barrier to modulate GABA-A receptors (brexanolone, benzodiazepines) or calcium channels (gabapentin), carrying sedation risks.

Is grape seed extract stronger than ginkgo biloba as an antioxidant? In lab assays, grape seed OPCs scavenge free radicals more strongly than Ginkgo flavonoids or vitamins C and E; in humans, OPCs cut loudness inside a 600 mg/day alpha-lipoic acid stack.

Which herb is better studied for inner-ear microcirculation? Standardized Ginkgo biloba (EGb 761) has larger cochlear perfusion data (1,915 Cochrane participants; 197-patient pentoxifylline trial), though placebo trials show little average edge.

Can you take grape seed extract or ginkgo biloba if you use blood thinners? Skip both without doctor approval on warfarin, apixaban, clopidogrel, aspirin, or NSAIDs, as both slow clotting and raise bleeding risk.

Sources

  1. Sedley W, et al. (2015): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26538652/

  2. Watson LS, et al. (2025): https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12668930/

  3. Piccirillo JF, et al. (2007): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17438255/

  4. Boonstra E, et al. (2015): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26500584/

  5. Byun JI, et al. (2018): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29856155/

  6. Yoto A, et al. (2012): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22203366/

  7. Petridou AI, et al. (2019): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31842394/

  8. Tang D, et al. (2022): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35067755/

  9. Sereda M, et al. (2022): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36383762/

  10. Drew S, Davies E. (2001): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11154618/

  11. Procházková K, et al. (2018): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29855986/

  12. Tunkel DE, et al. (2014): https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25273878/

  13. NIH DSLD (#331137, #273460, #256768, #239022): https://dsld.od.nih.gov/label/331137 ; https://dsld.od.nih.gov/label/273460 ; https://dsld.od.nih.gov/label/256768 ; https://dsld.od.nih.gov/label/239022

  14. NIH NCCIH: https://www.nccih.nih.gov/health/ginkgo ; https://www.nccih.nih.gov/health/grape-seed-extract

  15. NIH NIDCD & FDA: https://www.nidcd.nih.gov/health/tinnitus ; https://www.fda.gov/consumers/consumer-updates/grapefruit-juice-and-some-drugs-dont-mix ; https://www.fda.gov/food/dietary-supplements

Educational information only, not medical advice. Supplement statements are not evaluated by the FDA and do not diagnose, treat, or prevent any disease. Verified November 8, 2026.

EDITORIAL & RESEARCH STANDARDS

Steady Natural Health Research & Fact-Checking Team

Every guide and supplement audit is cross-checked against U.S. government nutrition databases (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, PubMed human trials, and FDA notices) for adults 45+. Our writers are health science researchers, not personal physicians—always discuss supplements with your doctor or pharmacist.

Editorial Policy  •  Affiliate Disclosure  •  Medical Disclaimer

bottom of page