top of page

Home  ›  Gut Health  ›  Liv Pure Ingredients Review (2026): Side Effects & Doses

✓ Fact-Checked & NIH-Cited  •  Updated November 6, 2026

Liv Pure bottle beside green tea leaves and a ceramic bowl on white marble — 2026 Steady Natural Health review cover

Liv Pure Ingredients Review (2026): Side Effects & Doses

Writer: Mr Steady Natural Health
Mr Steady Natural Health
16 hours ago
7 min read
Affiliate disclosure: This independent product review contains affiliate links. If you purchase through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost ([read our disclosure](/post/affiliate-disclosure)). We evaluate supplements using published research and label facts; nothing here is medical advice.

Short answer: Liv Pure groups 10 herbs and nutrients into two proprietary blends taken as two vegetarian capsules daily: a Liver Purification Complex (silymarin, betaine, berberine, molybdenum, glutathione) and a Liver Fat-Burning Complex (green tea extract, resveratrol, genistein, chlorogenic acid, choline). Individual milligram weights, caffeine carryover, and EGCG levels are not disclosed online, and two standard capsules (~1,000–1,400 mg total powder) cannot fit full clinical doses like 1,500 mg of berberine plus 2,100 mg of silymarin. For adults 45–75, key risks include stomach upset, fasting green-tea liver irritation, and berberine interactions with diabetes, blood-thinning, or liver-cleared drugs.

Quick ingredient & safety answers

Question

Verified 2026 Audit Fact

Serving size & format

2 vegetarian capsules daily with water; 60 capsules per bottle

10 named actives

Silymarin, betaine, berberine, molybdenum, glutathione, green tea, resveratrol, genistein, chlorogenic acid, choline

Exact mg transparency

Not disclosed online; grouped inside two proprietary blends

Caffeine & soy status

Labeled soy-free, but genistein plant source and trace tea caffeine are not disclosed

Top drug cautions

Metformin/insulin, warfarin, cyclosporine, statins, BP meds; Terms exclude diabetes and pregnancy

2026 US bundle prices

$79/bottle (2-pack + ship), $69/bottle (3-pack + ship), $49/bottle (6-pack, free US ship); 60-day refund

Liv Pure bottle beside green tea leaves and a ceramic bowl on white marble — product overview photograph

Full Liv Pure 10-ingredient breakdown: clinical doses vs. capsule math

Checking the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database on November 6, 2026 confirms liv-pure.co has not filed a public label. Searching NIH DSLD for "Liv Pure" instead surfaces an unrelated retail bottle — LIV Pure by Just Ripe Nutrition (NIH DSLD 337116) with 30 mg zinc, beet, and dandelion, omitting berberine, resveratrol, and genistein. Marketplace shoppers often receive that look-alike by mistake.

Two realities shape any review of liv pure ingredients:

  1. Capsule capacity: Two vegetarian capsules hold ~1,000–1,400 mg of powder combined, whereas human trials tested individual compounds at 300 mg to 20,000 mg/day.

  2. Mismatched footnotes: Footnotes 1–20 sit beside the 10 actives, yet the reference graphic (references-links.png) cites general metabolic flexibility reviews (Goodpaster & Sparks, 2017) rather than ingredient trials.

Ingredient (Complex)

Human PubMed Trial Benchmark

Evidence

Silymarin / Milk Thistle (Purification)

48-wk RCT, 99 nonalcoholic steatohepatitis adults: 2,100 mg/day missed primary score drop vs. placebo, with modest fibrosis improvement (Wah Kheong et al., 2017).

Mixed

Berberine (Purification)

16-wk RCT, 184 fatty liver adults: 1,500 mg/day + lifestyle cut liver fat 52.7% vs. 36.4% lifestyle alone (Yan et al., 2015).

Moderate (1.5 g)

Betaine (Purification)

12-mo RCT, 55 nonalcoholic fatty liver adults: 20,000 mg/day did not beat placebo on steatosis or fibrosis (Abdelmalek et al., 2009).

Weak

Glutathione (Purification)

4-mo open-label pilot, 34 fatty liver adults: 300 mg/day lowered ALT without a placebo group (Honda et al., 2017).

Limited (pilot)

Molybdenum (Purification)

Essential sulfite/aldehyde enzyme cofactor, 45 mcg RDA (Novotny & Peterson, 2018). Zero human fat-loss trials.

Unstudied

Camellia sinensis / Green Tea (Fat-Burning)

90-day RCT, 80 fatty liver patients: 500 mg/day extract lowered ALT/AST (Pezeshki et al., 2016); 14-RCT Cochrane review found -0.04 kg weight change (Jurgens et al., 2012).

Modest (enzymes)

Chlorogenic Acid (Fat-Burning)

12-wk RCT, 150 overweight adults: 369 mg/day coffee polyphenols reduced visceral fat and waist size (Watanabe et al., 2019).

Moderate

Choline (Fat-Burning)

Depletion study, 57 adults: <50 mg/day caused fatty liver in 77% of men and 80% of postmenopausal women; AI is 425–550 mg/day (Fischer et al., 2007).

Strong (deficiency)

Genistein (Fat-Burning)

8-wk RCT, 82 fatty liver patients: 250 mg/day improved insulin resistance and triglycerides, not BMI (Amanat et al., 2018).

Modest

Resveratrol (Fat-Burning)

8-wk RCT, 20 fatty liver men: 3,000 mg/day did not benefit liver fat and transiently raised ALT/AST (Chachay et al., 2014).

Weak / Negative

Takeaway for adults 45+: Choline, berberine, and chlorogenic acid hold the best human data, whereas milk thistle remains inconclusive (NCCIH). Bulky choline barely fits inside multi-herb pills — two whole eggs provide ~294 mg naturally.

Three label gaps competitor reviews overlook

Two-column comparison chart contrasting Liv Pure sales-page claims with verified label disclosures and medication cautions
  1. The "Soy-Free" genistein paradox: Liv Pure prints "Soy Free" beneath genistein, an isoflavone usually derived from soy unless extracted from Sophora japonica (botanical source not disclosed). Buyers with soy allergies or hormone-sensitive cancer history should consult their specialist.

  2. Undisclosed caffeine and EGCG: Both Camellia sinensis and green coffee extract can carry residual caffeine unless decaffeinated. Unlike coffee-paired formulas we covered in our Java Burn 2.0 review, Liv Pure publishes zero caffeine or EGCG milligrams.

  3. Terms-of-Service exclusions: liv-pure.co/terms advises anyone pregnant, nursing, peanut-allergic, or diabetic not to use the program — a rule most blogs omit.

Liv Pure side effects & prescription drug interactions

On Trustpilot (liv-pure.com, ~2.0/5 stars, treated as anecdotes alongside Reddit threads), complaints center on unchanged weight and return-shipping fees, plus occasional first-week stomach cramping or loose stools.

Published studies clarify the mechanisms behind potential liv pure side effects:

  • GI upset: Berberine at 1,500 mg/day caused mild diarrhea, constipation, or cramping in 10%–20% of trial subjects (Yan et al., 2015).

  • Fasting green-tea liver stress: The USP comprehensive review of green tea extract hepatotoxicity linked rare liver injury to 140–1,000 mg/day EGCG taken on an empty stomach (Oketch-Rabah et al., 2020).

  • CYP450 inhibition: Repeated administration of berberine in healthy humans inhibited CYP2D6, CYP2C9, and CYP3A4 (Guo et al., 2012), slowing clearance of common prescriptions after age 50.

Medication / Condition

Culprit

Clinical Mechanism & Risk

Action

Diabetes meds (metformin, insulin, sulfonylureas)

Berberine

Additive glucose drop; hypoglycemia risk

Excluded in Terms; ask doctor

Transplant drugs (cyclosporine, tacrolimus)

Berberine

Clinical pharmacokinetic study showed berberine raised blood cyclosporin A in renal transplant recipients (Wu et al., 2005)

Do not combine

Blood thinners (warfarin, clopidogrel)

Berberine, resveratrol

CYP2C9 inhibition alters clotting and bleeding risk

Avoid without INR checks

Statins, BP meds (losartan, metoprolol, simvastatin)

Berberine

CYP3A4/CYP2D6 inhibition raises drug levels (Guo et al., 2012)

Pharmacist review first

Liver disease or ER+ cancer history

Green tea, genistein

Fasting catechin stress; phytoestrogen activity

Consult specialist

Daily dosage, how to take it safely & 2026 bundle rules

Each bottle holds 60 capsules (two capsules daily). Swallow both capsules with breakfast or lunch and a full glass of water — never fasting, and at least two hours apart from cleared prescriptions.

Verified on Liv Pure's US order page on November 6, 2026 (no single-bottle option):

Package

Supply

Per Bottle

Bundle Total

US Shipping

2 Bottles

60 days

$79 ($2.63/day)

$158 + shipping

Added at checkout

3 Bottles

90 days

$69 ($2.30/day)

$207 + shipping

Added at checkout

6 Bottles

180 days

$49 ($1.63/day)

$294

Free US shipping

2026 Liv Pure bundle pricing and daily capsule cost table for 2, 3, and 6 bottle packages

Checkout is a one-time ClickBank charge with a 60-day refund policy from purchase date. Keep all empty/unused bottles and the packing slip for returns to 285 Northeast Ave., Tallmadge, OH 44278 (shipping deducted; clkbank.com backs up support).

See our full 2026 Liv Pure supplement review and Liv Pure vs HepatoBurn review. Per the NIDDK, gradual 3%–5% weight loss via whole foods and walking outperforms any capsule.

When to see a doctor: Supplements are not evaluated by the FDA to treat liver disease (FDA). Stop use and seek prompt care for jaundice (yellow skin or eyes), dark urine, pale stools, upper-right belly pain, unexplained itching, or high ALT/AST labs.

Frequently asked questions

What are the 10 ingredients in Liv Pure? Liv Pure pairs five Liver Purification actives (silymarin, betaine, berberine, molybdenum, glutathione) with five Liver Fat-Burning actives (green tea extract, resveratrol, genistein, chlorogenic acid, choline).

Does Liv Pure disclose exact milligram dosages? No. Individual milligram weights and total blend weights are not disclosed online before delivery.

Does Liv Pure contain caffeine or soy? It is labeled soy-free and non-GMO, but neither the plant source of genistein nor trace caffeine in green tea and chlorogenic acid extracts is disclosed.

Can Liv Pure cause stomach upset or diarrhea? Yes. Berberine and concentrated extracts can trigger mild cramping, diarrhea, constipation, or nausea in weeks one to two, especially without food.

Does berberine in Liv Pure interact with prescription medications? Yes. Berberine inhibits CYP2D6, CYP2C9, and CYP3A4 enzymes and lowers blood sugar, interacting with metformin, insulin, cyclosporine, warfarin, statins, and blood-pressure drugs.

Who should avoid taking Liv Pure capsules? Anyone under 18, pregnant or nursing women, people with peanut or soy allergies, active liver disease, hormone-sensitive cancers, or diabetes prescriptions should skip it unless doctor-cleared.

Should you take Liv Pure on an empty stomach or with food? Always take both capsules with a meal and water to limit berberine queasiness and fasting green-tea liver irritation.

Sources

  1. Wah Kheong C, et al. Randomized trial of silymarin for nonalcoholic steatohepatitis. Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2017. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28419855/

  2. Yan HM, et al. Efficacy of berberine in non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. PLoS One. 2015. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26252777/

  3. Abdelmalek MF, et al. Betaine for nonalcoholic fatty liver disease RCT. Hepatology. 2009. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/19824078/

  4. Honda Y, et al. Oral glutathione pilot study in NAFLD. BMC Gastroenterol. 2017. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28789631/

  5. Novotny JA, Peterson CA. Molybdenum. Adv Nutr. 2018. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29767695/

  6. Pezeshki A, et al. Green tea extract supplementation on liver enzymes in NAFLD. Int J Prev Med. 2016. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26955458/

  7. Jurgens TM, et al. Green tea for weight loss in overweight or obese adults. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2012. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23235664/

  8. Watanabe T, et al. Coffee abundant in chlorogenic acids reduces abdominal fat RCT. Nutrients. 2019. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31315279/

  9. Fischer LM, et al. Menopausal status and human dietary requirements for choline. Am J Clin Nutr. 2007. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17490963/

  10. Amanat S, et al. Genistein supplementation in non-alcoholic fatty liver RCT. Clin Nutr. 2018. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28647291/

  11. Chachay VS, et al. Resveratrol in nonalcoholic fatty liver disease RCT. Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2014. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24582567/

  12. Oketch-Rabah HA, et al. USP comprehensive review of hepatotoxicity of green tea extracts. Toxicol Rep. 2020. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32140423/

  13. Guo Y, et al. Repeated administration of berberine inhibits cytochromes P450 in humans. Eur J Clin Pharmacol. 2012. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/21870106/

  14. Wu X, et al. Effects of berberine on blood cyclosporin A in renal transplant recipients. Eur J Clin Pharmacol. 2005. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16133554/

  15. Goodpaster BH, Sparks LM. Metabolic Flexibility in Health and Disease. Cell Metab. 2017. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28467922/

  16. NIH DSLD. LIV Pure by Just Ripe Nutrition (ID 337116). https://dsld.od.nih.gov/label/337116

  17. NIDDK (NIH). Treatment for NAFLD & NASH. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/nafld-nash/treatment

  18. NCCIH (NIH). Milk Thistle: Usefulness and Safety. https://www.nccih.nih.gov/health/milk-thistle

  19. U.S. FDA. Dietary Supplements. https://www.fda.gov/food/dietary-supplements

Medical disclaimer: Informational only; not medical advice from your physician or pharmacist ([read our medical disclaimer](/post/medical-disclaimer)). Supplement statements have not been evaluated by the FDA and do not diagnose, treat, or prevent disease. Details, prices, and refund terms were verified November 6, 2026 and may change.

EDITORIAL & RESEARCH STANDARDS

Steady Natural Health Research & Fact-Checking Team

Every guide and supplement audit is cross-checked against U.S. government nutrition databases (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, PubMed human trials, and FDA notices) for adults 45+. Our writers are health science researchers, not personal physicians—always discuss supplements with your doctor or pharmacist.

Editorial Policy  •  Affiliate Disclosure  •  Medical Disclaimer

bottom of page